TechSoup.org The place for nonprofits, charities, and libraries

Staff Technology Skills: Creating a Learning Environment 

Webinar video

More informations about this webinar

Webinar Description 

How can you foster an environment in which staff have the technology expertise necessary to help patrons achieve their goals? Join us on October 31 at 11 a.m. Pacific/Noon Mountain/1 p.m. Central/2 p.m. Eastern time, as we talk with Mick Jacobsen and Toby Greenwalt about technology skills and the culture of learning at Skokie Public Library (Illinois).  What have they done? What did they learn? What are they planning to do next?

This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks. A coalition of leading library and local government organizations are working on Edge, including The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the Urban Libraries Council, American Library Association's OITP, International City/County Management Association, Lyrasis, Public Library Association, State Libraries of California, Oklahoma and Texas, TechSoup Global, Universities of Maryland and Washington, and WebJunction/OCLC. The Edge Initiative is a voluntary assessment program that provides libraries with benchmarks, best practices, tools and resources that support continuous improvement and reinvestment in public technology services. Edge helps libraries connect their services to community priorities. Edge will be available to public libraries nationwide in January 2014.

This work is published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 License. If you have any questions regarding redistribution or use of this work, please contact webinars@techsoupglobal.org.

Speaker Information 

Mikael “Mick” Jacobsen is the Supervisor of Computer Labs/Reference Librarian at the Skokie Public Library in Illinois. This, for Mick, entails working in a multitude of patron contact points, designing and maintaining online presences, and managing the busy Adult Services Computer Lab and Digital Media Lab. As you might guess, Mick is often called on to train staff and patrons on anything that goes beep in the night. He is 2013 Library Journal Mover & Shaker.

Toby Greenwalt is Virtual Services Coordinator at Skokie (Illinois) Public Library, where he is charged with overseeing the public side of the organization's web interface. Working with issues of content, design, and policy, he works to bring the human factor to community technology. He writes "The Wired Library" column for Public Libraries magazine, and tweets far too often as @theanalogdivide.